A few minutes later I’m fine. I have taken time off work now, realizing my body needs rest and I could not function in the state I am in. Have a look at the Effexor withdrawal comments where it states "How Long Does Effexor Withdrawal Last" - over 830 replies - and this gives you an idea how the withdrawal time varies from person to person. I have missed so much work trying to get over these symptoms. I don’t remember much trouble with cold during the first week, though I was kind of distracted by vomiting and diarrhea that week, so maybe I didn’t notice. I’ll try again later. My MD thought it would be a good choice b/c I was also experiencing hot flashes. Again, I’m not a doctor and you should have one involved in your plan. It differed from the SSRIs in that in addition to solely … I am on my second or third week now and the withdrawal symptoms are a lot more tolerable but still the insomnia and itching and hair loss are the worst! Don't want to scare anyone, many people withdraw successfully and feel better as a result but don't mess around with this stuff it can can absolutely cause long term injury or disability, even death in some cases. The first 5 days were absolute hell. I started at 150mg for about a year. I know I’ll have bad days in between and that’s OK. The Effexor withdrawal timeline can be quite variable. I want my life back. I thought I was going nuts until I found this place. I’ll stick it through these withdrawal symptoms. But you will be so happy you did it! It’s only been 2 & 1/2 weeks since my last pill 37.5 so I know I have along road ahead yet. All I can tell you is one day you will just notice it is gone. And also I take ZEN. All the best. Buy one of those pill counters that pharmacists use – I would empty a capsule and then count grains. I’ve been on 37.5mg for a little over a year now and just started the tapering off process two weeks ago. I’ve been crying for no reason. Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. The reason being is the "